The Nigerian Law Reform Commission (hereinafter referred to as “the Commission”) was established in July 1979 by the Nigerian Law Reform Commission Act Cap N118 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004, (hereinafter referred to as “the Act”). The Commission, which is a corporate body, is anonymous, though the Hon. Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice is mandated to:
i. Provide references particularly in areas of law, which the Government through its policies wishes to be reviewed and reformed.
ii. Assist in acquiring the necessary funding for its operations.
iii. Implement the Commission’s reports.


Section 2 Cap. N118 LFN 2004 provides for the appointment by the President of four full time Commissioners, one of who is to be designated Chairman. The Act also provides for the office of a Secretary to the Commission, who is also to be appointed by the President. The Secretary is the Accounting Officer of the Commission and in this position is to assist the Chairman in the day to day administration of the Commission.

The Present Commission is composed as follows:

Hon. Justice O.O. Somolu (Rtd) Chairman
Professor C.O. Okonkwo Commissioner
K. Kekung-Asu Esq. Commissioner
M. M. Kanem Esq.